EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER DECISIONS MEETING FOR EDUCATION & CHILDREN

15 JULY 2020

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Executive Board Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

J. Owen, Democratic Services Officer

Virtual Meeting: 9:30am - 10:15am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. APPOINTMENT OF L.A. GOVERNORS

The Executive Board Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was also noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

The Executive Board Member highlighted that the report contained a minor error within the nomination for Ysgol y Strade whereby the details should read 'Cllr. Gareth Thomas is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at **Ysgol y Strade** from 1st September.'

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Betws (1 vacancy from 1st September 2020 -	Mr D. J. R. Bartlett
1 nomination)	
Brynsierfel	
(1 vacancy from 1st September 2020 -	Councillor Sharen Davies
1 nomination)	
Cae'r Felin	
(2 vacancies 1 current and from 5 th	Councillor Linda Davies Evans
September 2020 - 1 nomination)	



	I
Carwe-Gwynfryn-Ponthenri Federation (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Councillor Tyssul Evans
Cross Hands-Drefach Federation (3 vacancies, 2 from 10 th October and 1 from 25 th November 2020 – 2 nominations)	Councillor Emlyn Dole and Councillor Darren Price
Ferryside (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs K. Morgan
Laugharne (1 vacancy from 12 th October 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Jane Tremlett
Llangain (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Carys Jones
Llanllwni (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Linda Davies Evans
Llannon (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Emlyn Dole
Llansteffan (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Carys Jones
Llanybydder (2 vacancies, 1 current and 1 from 12 th October 2020 – 1 nomination)	Councillor Ieuan Wyn Davies
Llys Hywel (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020 – 1 nomination)	Councillor Sue Allen
Parc y Tywyn (2 vacancies from 1 st September 2020 – 2 nominations)	Councillor John James and Councillor Hugh Shepardson
Pembrey (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020 – 1 nomination)	Councillor Hugh Shepardson
Pen Rhos (2 vacancies from 31st October 2020 – 1 nomination)	Councillor Louvain Roberts
Swiss Valley (1 vacancy from 5 th September 2020– 1 nomination)	Councillor Giles Morgan
Teilo Sant (2 current vacancies – 2 nominations)	Mr O. James and Mr O. Gruffydd
Trimsaran (1 vacancy from 29 th September 2020 – 1 nomination)	Mrs M. James
Tycroes (1 current vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mrs J. H. Joseph



Y Bedol (2 vacancies, from 5 th & 19 th September 2020 – 2 nominations)	Councillor David Jenkins and Councillor Kevin Madge
Y Dderwen (2 vacancies from 26 th September 2020 – 2 nominations)	Councillor Peter Hughes-Griffiths & Rev TT Defis
Secondary School	Appointments
Bro Myrddin (2 current vacancies – 2 nominations)	Councillor Peter Hughes-Griffiths and Councillor Mair Stephens
Coedcae (1 vacancy from 1 st September 2020 – 1 nomination)	Councillor Louvain Roberts
Dyffryn Aman (2 vacancies from 1 st and 5 th September 2020 - 2 nominations)	Mr D. J. R. Bartlett and Mrs N Evans
Dyffryn Taf (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr P. Davies
Strade (3 vacancies – from 18 th July, 1 st & 5 th September 2020 - 2 nominations)	Councillor Gareth Thomas and Town Councillor M. V. Davies

3. TO SIGN AS A CORRECT RECORD THE DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 18^{TH} MARCH, 2020

RESOLVED that the decision Record of the meeting held on the 18th March, 2020 be signed as a correct record.

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER	DATE

